Oklahoma State Information Page
- Medical Program with qualifying medical conditions only
- Not decriminalized statewide, however, some cities, such as Oklahoma City, have decriminalized minor possession
- Possession is not allowed recreationally
- possession of up to eight ounces of marijuana; up to one ounce of concentrated marijuana; up to 72 ounces of edibles, six mature plants; and up to six seedling marijuana plants is legal for medical cardholders.
- Cultivation without cannabis business licenses is illegal.
Medical cannabis is legal in Oklahoma, and there is a complete medical program established for medical marijuana patients within the state with over 2,000 state-approved dispensaries.
Recreational cannabis, however, is still illegal, and marijuana has not been decriminalized statewide, but legislation is being presented to do so in the coming years.
State Laws and Offenses
Here’s a list of penalties for Oklahoma’s possession, sale, and distribution of marijuana, concentrate, or paraphernalia.
- Marijuana is a Schedule I drug according to Oklahoma law
- Federally, cannabis is still considered one of the Schedule I Controlled dangerous substances
- Possession limits of any kind is a misdemeanor with a term of imprisonment of up to one year and a fine of up to 1,000 USD
- The sale of fewer than 25 pounds is a felony, punishable by incarceration for a period of two years to life, as well as a fine of 20,000 USD.
- Cultivating up to 1,000 plants is a felony, punishable by a maximum 25,000 USD fine and between 20 years and life imprisonment.
- Cultivation of more than 1,000 plants is punishable by a fine of up to 50,000 USD and between twenty years and life imprisonment.
- possession of paraphernalia is a misdemeanor that is punishable by up to one-year imprisonment as well as a 1,000 USD fine.
The Oklahoma State Bureau has one of the least restrictive medical marijuana programs in the nation, requiring only that applicants be 18 years or older with a board-certified physician’s signature and proof of residency.
Exceptional circumstances may be allowed for minors if applicants receive two physician recommendations along with the applicant’s parent or legal guardian’s signature. It is also a potential substance misuse treatment for those who have become addicted to alcohol or opioids.
Book An Appointment
You will schedule an online appointment with a Leafy DOC medical marijuana doctor at a time that is most convenient for you. Provide basic medical history and book your appointment with a licensed medical marijuana doctor. You will need medical records and the doctor can approve any qualifying condition(s).
Consult with a doctor for 15 minutes to evaluate your ailments, and ask any questions you may have about medical marijuana treatment.
Within 24 hours after the evaluation, the doctor will send your certificate via email for your recommendation for medical marijuana. After receiving that recommendation, you can then apply with the state of Oklahoma to complete the registration process.
Does Oklahoma accept out-of-state medical cards?
Yes. The state provides temporary adult medical marijuana licenses for medical marijuana that allows a person with a valid medical marijuana license from another state to legally grow medical marijuana, buy in an Oklahoma dispensary, use edible medical marijuana products, and sell medical marijuana in Oklahoma.
When does my Oklahoma medical card expire?
Medical cards expire two years from the date the patient completes the registration process with the state.
Oklahoma marijuana DUI laws
Driving under the influence of cannabis is illegal, even in medical marijuana states. The first offense can result in a minimum of 48 hours to one-year incarceration, 1250 USD fine, or both; 180 days suspended license; completion of a substance abuse evaluation and treatment program.
Oklahoma marijuana growing laws
For home growing cannabis, you will need a state medical marijuana card, and you must abide by the state’s legal limits. Also, you must either own the property or have permission from the owner to grow on it, and the cannabis plants cannot be visible to the public.
Oklahoma public consumption laws
- According to the state of Oklahoma, prohibited acts regarding public consumption of marijuana include:
- License holders can consume marijuana in their homes but not in public places, especially around public or private school
- Oklahoma residents with a medical marijuana license can drive with the marijuana in their cars, as long as they do not cross state lines or use it while driving.
- Even without a card, a person found with an ounce and a half or less of usable cannabis could be looking at a fine of 400 USD.
- Billboard advertising for medical marijuana dispensaries and cannabis sales is permitted.
Oklahoma city specific laws
The laws listed here are for the state. Cities, counties, schools, universities, and employers may set their own rules and consequences. Be sure to check how marijuana laws differ in each county or town before you use.
Approximately 90 percent of Oklahoma voters supported the legalization of marijuana for medical use in their state.
It is legal to consume edible marijuana anywhere in the state of Oklahoma, and it is legal to smoke cannabis anywhere the smoking of tobacco is permitted.
Oklahoma medical marijuana Patients must apply for a medical marijuana patient license on the OMMA portal according to Oklahoma laws:
Here are the steps:
- An Oklahoma resident 18 and older must obtain a signed Adult Patient Physician Recommendation Form from an Oklahoma board-certified Physician within 30 days of the application date.
- Many doctors in Oklahoma are open to a conversation about medical cannabis cards and caregiver licenses. Doctors do not have to register with the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority before signing a physician’s recommendation form for a patient, but finding a reasonable and prudent physician who is already registered will expedite a patient’s application.
- The application fee is 100 USD. Those who show proof of Medicaid or Medicare enrollment or status as a 100 percent disabled veteran will pay a reduced price of 20 USD.
- The license will be mailed within fourteen days of the application submission date if the application is approved and can be used at state-licensed dispensaries.
Cannabis Policy Reform Timeline
1933: Cannabis was banned in Oklahoma due to federal prohibition.
2015: The sale of CBD oil with less than 3 percent THC was approved
2016: Green The Vote gathered signatures to legalize medical marijuana but it failed to reach the ballot
2018: Voters approved medical marijuana legalization; OMMA and a medical marijuana program were created by the Department of Health; Commercial licenses were given out and the first medical marijuana dispensary for retail medical marijuana sales was opened
2022: Oklahoma now has over 2,000 medical dispensaries allowing a patient license holder to purchase cannabis statewide and initiatives are working to decriminalize and legalize cannabis for cannabis consumers in the state.
Some of the Current Cannabis Bills in Oklahoma
Learn more about Cannabis legalization in Oklahoma: