Washington State Information Page
- Medical and recreational marijuana is legalized and purchasing cannabis is allowed.
- Decriminalized statewide for personal use
- Adult residents may possess one ounce of cannabis
- Cultivation of up to four plants by medical card holders is allowed’ recreational cultivation is prohibited
Medical Cannabis Savings
Taxes explained and the benefits of getting your medical card in Washington
Recreational Marijuana Taxes in Washington
37% excise tax
Medical Marijuana Taxes in Washington
Marijuana has been legal for recreational use in Washington since 2012 for adults, and medical marijuana has been legal since 1998 for medical cardholders and caregivers. Washington was the second state in the U.S. that legalized cannabis and allowed its’ residents to legally purchase marijuana. The state’s cannabis industry has been booming since 2012.
State Laws and Offenses
Here’s a list of penalties for Washington possession, sale, and distribution of marijuana, concentrate, or paraphernalia.
- Marijuana is a Schedule I substance in the state of Washington
- Federally, cannabis is still considered a Schedule I Controlled Substance and is illegal.
- An adult resident may possess up to one ounce of cannabis
- The public consumption of marijuana is subject to civil penalties.
- Marijuana possession with intent to distribute any amount of marijuana is a felony punishable by up to five years imprisonment and a fine of up to 10,000 USD.
- Retail sales of adult-use cannabis by state-licensed entities to those over the age of 21 are regulated in this state. Marijuana sales by unlicensed entities remain subject to criminal penalties. It is also illegal to transport or sell marijuana-infused products across state lines.
- Cultivation for either personal use or distribution is a felony punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment and a fine of up to 10,000 USD.
- Advertisement of paraphernalia is a misdemeanor punishable by a mandatory minimum of 24 hours and a maximum of 90 days in jail and a fine of not more than 1,000 USD.
Washington allows patients with the following conditions to apply for a medical cannabis card:
- Crohn’s disease
- Hepatitis C
- HIV or AIDS
- Intractable pain
- Persistent muscle spasms, and/or spasticity
- Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
- Traumatic Brain Injury
- Any terminal or debilitating condition
Book An Appointment
You will schedule an appointment to see a medical marijuana doctor in Washington at a time that is most convenient for you. Provide basic medical history and book your appointment with a licensed medical marijuana doctor.
Consult with a doctor for a quick evaluation of your ailments, and ask any questions you may have about medical marijuana treatment.
Within 24 hours after the evaluation, the doctor will send your certificate via email for your recommendation for medical marijuana. After receiving that recommendation, you can then apply with the state of Washington to complete the registration process.
Call a medically-endorsed retail store and schedule an appointment with a medical marijuana consultant (certified consultant) who can register you into the medical marijuana database and issue a medical marijuana card.
Does Washington accept out-of-state medical cards?
Washington does not accept out-of-state medical cards nor allows medical patients to use their cannabis products purchased from another state, but an adult medical patient can visit a legal dispensary to purchase with an ID.
When does my Washington medical card expire?
Medical cards expire one year from the date the patient completes the registration process with the state.
Washington marijuana DUI laws
Here are the penalties in Washington for driving under the influence:
- A first offense can result in up to 364 days in jail, up to 5,000 USD in fines, ninety-day driver’s license revocation, and the court may order fifteen days of electronic home monitoring or a ninety-day period of 24/7 sobriety program monitoring.
- A second offense can result in up to 364 days in jail, sixty days of electronic home monitoring, or an additional four days in jail, or six months in a 24/7 sobriety program, up to 5,000 USD fine, two years license revocation, the vehicle is subject to seizure and forfeiture, may be required to install an ignition interlock device on the vehicle.
Penalties increase with a subsequent federal offense.
Washington marijuana growing laws
With a medical cannabis card, adults 21 years or older can grow up to four cannabis plants in their home, out of sight from the public.
Washington public consumption laws
Washington state law prohibits the use of cannabis in a public place, including for medical patients. Only consumption of usable marijuana in a private residence with the consent of the property owner is allowed. Washington has no license or permit process for onsite consumption at retail stores or lounges.
Washington city specific laws
The laws listed here are for the state. Cities, counties, schools, universities, and employers may set their own rules and consequences. Be sure to check how marijuana laws differ in each county or town before you use.
Sixty-eight percent of Washington state voters approved recreational legalization for adults.
Yes, recreational cannabis inhalation devices are legal and sold in dispensaries in the state of Washington; however, residents are not allowed to consume cannabis in public view.
Customers will be able to purchase a wide array of cannabis-infused products including marijuana flower, edibles or solid form, liquid form or tinctures, vaporizer cartridges, concentrates, and topicals.
No. Home cultivation by a recreational user is prohibited. However, with a medical card, medical marijuana patients are allowed to grow up to four cannabis plants and may keep their harvested flowers for medical use.
Requirements are as follows:
Be 18 years of age or older
You must be able to provide proof of your IL residency
You must have a diagnosis that qualifies in Illinois and a doctor’s prescription.
You must submit a signed Physician Certification with your MMP application – and that is where Leafy Doc can help. We can assist with booking your appointment and then provide the Physician Certification so that you can apply to get your medical card. Once you have the card, you may visit licensed medical marijuana dispensaries and even grow medical cannabis.
Yes. Washington medical marijuana laws require all qualifying patients to be registered with the state before they consume marijuana for medical purposes.
Requirements are as follows:
Schedule an appointment with a licensed medical marijuana doctor.
Speak with the doctor to find out if you qualify
Obtain your medical marijuana authorization
Submit your application to the state of WA
Get your medical marijuana ID card to purchase marijuana products
Start purchasing usable marijuana at state-licensed dispensaries within the medical marijuana industry.
As of 2022, there are approximately 660 dispensaries statewide.
Cannabis Policy Reform Timeline
1923: The Washington State Legislature passed House Bill 3, which defined cannabis as a narcotic drug. Possession was declared punishable by up to ten years in prison.
1979: The Washington Court of Appeals recognized the significance of cannabis use with active THC and CBD for a limited amount of qualifying medical patients.
1998: Initiative 692 or the Medical Marijuana Act was passed to allow the legalization of medical marijuana and the establishment of a statewide program
2003: Minor possession of cannabis became the lowest priority for law enforcement
2012: Initiative 502 was passed to legalize recreational cannabis and the use of marijuana-infused products for adults
2021: The Washington State Supreme Court ruled that adults are allowed to possess marijuana for personal use. Recreational marijuana use is now regulated by the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board.
Some of the Current Cannabis Bills in Washington
Learn more about Cannabis legalization in Washington: