Vermont State Information Page
- Medical marijuana and recreational use are legalized.
- Decriminalized statewide for personal use
- Adult residents may possess one ounce of recreational cannabis; possession limits of up to two ounces for medical patients.
- Cultivation of up to six plants (two mature plants and four immature plants) per residence is allowed for recreational cannabis; up to nine plants (only four mature plants at once) for registered patients
Medical Cannabis Savings
Taxes explained and the benefits of getting your medical card in Vermont
Recreational Marijuana Taxes in Vermont
20% (14% excise + 6% sales tax)
Medical Marijuana Taxes in Vermont
Estimated Savings Having a Medical Marijuana Card
Marijuana has been legal recreationally for adult use in Vermont since 2018, and medical marijuana use has been legal since 2004. Medical cardholders and caregivers have been able to buy cannabis since 2011.
State Laws and Offenses
Here’s a list of penalties for Vermont possession, sale, and distribution of marijuana, concentrate, or paraphernalia.
- Marijuana is a Schedule I substance in the state of Vermont
- Federally, cannabis is still considered a Schedule I Controlled Substance.
- A Vermont resident may possess up to an ounce of cannabis for adult use
- The sale or delivery of less than half an ounce is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of two years imprisonment and a maximum fine of 10,000 USD, or both.
- Possession of more than five grams of hashish is a misdemeanor punishable by six months imprisonment and a maximum fine of 500 USD for a first offense.
- Adults 21 and older may legally grow six plants at one time.
- The possession of marijuana paraphernalia by a person 21 years of age or older is punishable by a civil fine only — no arrest, no jail time, and no criminal record.
- Beginning January 1, 2021, new cannabis laws state that past marijuana convictions will be expunged and that residents will not have to acknowledge the existence of the criminal record so as not to negatively impact those who have previous cannabis convictions.
Vermont allows patients with the following conditions to apply for a medical cannabis card:
- Any patient receiving hospice care
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Crohn’s disease
- HIV or AIDS
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post-traumatic Stress Disorder
- Severe or chronic pain
- Severe nausea
Book An Appointment
You will schedule an appointment to see a medical marijuana doctor in Vermont at a time that is most convenient for you. Provide basic medical history and book your appointment with a licensed medical marijuana doctor.
Consult with a doctor for a quick evaluation of your ailments, and ask any questions you may have about medical marijuana treatment.
Within 24 hours after the evaluation, the doctor will send your certificate via email for your recommendation for medical marijuana. After receiving that recommendation, you can then apply with the state of Vermont to complete the registration process.
Does Vermont accept out-of-state medical cards?
Vermont does not accept out-of-state medical cards; however due to marijuana legalization statewide an adult can legally purchase weed from a dispensary licensed for marijuana sales.
When does my Vermont medical card expire?
Medical cards expire one year from the date the patient completes the registration process with the state.
Vermont marijuana DUI laws
Here are the penalties in Vermont for driving under the influence:
- First-time offenders can result in up to two years’ imprisonment, 750 USD fine, 160 USD DUI surcharges, and driver’s license suspension for ninety days.
- A second offense can result in up to two years’ imprisonment, 1,500 USD fine, or both, 160 USD DUI surcharges, driver’s license suspension for eighteen months and may drive only with an IID installed, 200 hours of community service, offenders must serve sixty consecutive hours of imprisonment.
- A third offense can result in up to five years’ imprisonment, 2,500 USD fine, 160 USD DUI surcharges, driver’s license shall be revoked for life, and may only operate a vehicle with an IID installed.
Vermont marijuana growing laws
As of July 2018, the Vermont legislature approved home cultivation of up to six marijuana plants (two mature and four immature marijuana plants) is no longer punishable by a penalty. Adults who cultivate marijuana for their own personal use may keep their entire harvest but must grow it in a private residence out of public sight.
Vermont public consumption laws
Vermont state law prohibits the use of cannabis in a public place, including for medical patients. residents may use no marijuana in the following locations:
- Public establishments and businesses
- Public transportation
- Smoking cannabis is prohibited in places where it is illegal to smoke tobacco.
- Property owners and landlords can ban the possession and use of cannabis on their properties.
- Employers can ban possession and use at the workplace.
Vermont city specific laws
The laws listed here are for the state. Cities, counties, schools, universities, and employers may set their own rules and consequences. Be sure to check how marijuana laws differ in each county or town before you use.
Fifty-eight percent of voters approved the state legislature to legalize cannabis in Vermont.
Yes, Marijuana inhalation devices are legal in private spaces; however, recreational retail sales are not yet operational.
Yes. According to marijuana laws, an adult is allowed to grow up to two mature and four seedling plants on their private property.
Yes. Vermont medical marijuana laws require all qualified patients to be registered with the state before using cannabis for medicinal purposes. Requirements are as follows:
Submit a photo
Enclose a completed HealthCare Professional Verification Form.
Submit non-refundable 50 USD licensing fees
If you plant to grow, list the address and location where you plan to cultivate
The VMR must approve or deny an application for a registered medical marijuana patient in writing within thirty days of receipt.
Once approved, you’ll receive your medical card in the mail and you’ll be able to purchase cannabis from a designated dispensary in Vermont.
Requirements are as follows:
Be 18 years of age or older
You must be able to provide proof of your IL residency
You must have a diagnosis that qualifies in Illinois and a doctor’s prescription.
You must submit a signed Physician Certification with your MMP application – and that is where Leafy Doc can help. We can assist with booking your appointment and then provide the Physician Certification so that you can apply to get your medical card. Once you have the card, you may visit licensed medical marijuana dispensaries and even grow medical cannabis.
No. Due to the public safety’s regulations, dispensaries are only allowed to sell cannabis products to registered Vermont residents and medical patients at their preferred dispensary.
Cannabis Policy Reform Timeline
1915: Cannabis use and possession were banned in Vermont due to federal prohibition
2004: Vermont legalized medical marijuana via Senate Bill 76 and established a cannabis control board
2007: Senate Bill 7 was passed to expand the medical program and qualifying conditions
2013: House Bill passed to decriminalize the possession of one ounce or less and eliminating penalties down to a civil infraction
2014: Governor Shumlin stated his support for a tax and regulate system for cannabis
2017: The Vermont State House voted to approve a ballot initiative to allow personal possession, use, and cultivation of cannabis but not commercial sales
2018: House Bill 511, an amended version of the 2017 cannabis laws, was passed. As recommended by the Governor’s marijuana advisory commission, Governor Phil Scott signed the law to legalize adult personal possession of one ounce of cannabis and allows individuals to cultivate two mature and four immature cannabis plants.
2022: Licensed dispensaries can begin to sell cannabis to adults in October thanks to legalization advocates for marijuana sales in the state.
Some of the Current Cannabis Bills in Vermont
Learn more about Cannabis legalization in Vermont: