New Jersey Marijuana Laws
New Jersey State Information Page
- Medical and recreational use is legalized.
- Decriminalized statewide for personal use
- Adult residents may possess six ounces of recreational cannabis
- Cultivation is not allowed for medical patients or recreational marijuana users
Medical Cannabis Savings
Taxes explained and the benefits of getting your medical card in New Jersey
Recreational Marijuana Taxes in New Jersey
6.625% sales tax (proposed)
Medical Marijuana Taxes in New Jersey
2% (0% after July 2022)
Estimated Savings Having a Medical Marijuana Card
4.625% (6.625% after July 2022)
Marijuana has been legal for recreational use in New Jersey since 2020 for adults, and medical marijuana has been legal since 2010 for medical cardholders and caregivers. Recreational cannabis dispensaries are set to open in spring 2022.
State Laws and Offenses
Here’s a list of criminal penalties for New Jersey possession, sale, and distribution of marijuana, concentrate, or paraphernalia marijuana offenses.
- Marijuana is a Schedule I substance in the state of NJ
- Federally, cannabis is still considered a Schedule I Controlled Substance.
- Simple Possession of up to 6 ounces of cannabis by an adult is legal.
- Marijuana Possession of more than 6 ounces of cannabis by an adult is a crime of the fourth degree punishable by 18 months imprisonment and a fine of up to 25,000 USD.
- Cultivation of 1 ounce up to less than 5 pounds is a crime in the 3rd degree punishable by a sentence of 3-5 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of 25,000 USD.
- A person over the age of 21 may purchase, possess and use cannabis paraphernalia.
- Failure to turn over marijuana or hashish to a nearby police officer is a misdemeanor. In addition, being under the influence of marijuana or hashish is also a misdemeanor.
New Jersey allows medical cannabis patients with the following conditions to apply for a medical cannabis card:
- Addiction substitute therapy for opioid reduction
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Cancer (includes associated chronic pain and/or severe nausea)
- Chronic pain
- Chronic visceral pain
- Crohn’s disease
- Dysmenorrhea (menstrual cramps)
- HIV/AIDS (includes associated chronic pain and severe nausea)
- Inflammatory bowel disease (IBD)
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Muscular Dystrophy
- Opioid dependency
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
- Seizure and spasticity disorders
- Tourette’s syndrome
- Any terminal illness if a doctor has determined the terminally ill patients will die within a year
Book An Appointment
You will schedule an online appointment with a Leafy DOC medical marijuana doctor at a time that is most convenient for you. Provide basic medical history and book your appointment with a licensed medical marijuana doctor. You will need medical records and the doctor can approve any qualifying condition(s).
Consult with a doctor for 15 minutes to evaluate your ailments, and ask any questions you may have about medical marijuana treatment.
Within 24 hours after the evaluation, the doctor will send your certificate via email for your recommendation for medical marijuana. After receiving that recommendation, you can then apply with the state of New Jersey to complete the registration process.
Does New Jersey accept out-of-state medical cards?
New Jersey does accept out-of-state cards, but it is a complex process and is limited to six months of reciprocity.
When does my New Jersey medical card expire?
The medical card issued by the state of New Jersey expires every 2 years from when the doctor completes this registration. This is generally within 24 hours after the evaluation appointment. However, the prescription from the doctor expires every year, therefore you still need to renew your medical card annually.
New Jersey marijuana DUI laws
Here are the penalties in New Jersey for driving under the influence:
- A first offense can result in up to thirty days of jail time and up to a 400 USD fine.
- A second offense can result in up to ninety days of jail time and up to a 1000 USD fine.
- Third and subsequent offenses can result in up to six months incarceration, loss of driver’s license, and up to a 1000 USD fine.
New Jersey marijuana growing laws
New Jersey does not allow home cultivation, even for medical patients under the Medical Cannabis Act. There are bills to revise this law and allow adults to grow six plants, however, it is currently still illegal.
New Jersey public consumption laws
New Jersey will permit indoor and outdoor consumption lounges for medical patients and recreational users. All other public consumption is prohibited.
New Jersey city specific laws
The laws listed here are for the state. Cities, counties, schools, universities, and employers may set their own rules and consequences. Be sure to check how marijuana laws differ in each county or town before you use.
Fifty-five percent of New Jersey voters approved recreational legalization for adults.
No. Medical patients and recreational users are prohibited from home cultivation.
Yes. New Jersey law requires all qualifying patients to be registered in New Jersey’s medical marijuana program before being allowed to purchase medical marijuana from medical marijuana dispensaries.
Requirements are as follows:
- Be 18 years of age or older for medical use
- You must be able to provide proof of your NJ residency
- You must have a diagnosis that qualifies in New Jersey
- Registered patients must submit a signed Physician Certification with your Medical Cannabis Program application – and that is where Leafy Doc can help.
- We can assist with booking your appointment and then provide the Physician Certification so that you can apply to get your medical card and visit a medical cannabis dispensary or order from cannabis delivery services.
As of 2022, there are approximately 23 medical dispensaries statewide. Recreational dispensaries are set to open this year.
Requirements are as follows:
Be 18 years of age or older
You must be able to provide proof of your IL residency
You must have a diagnosis that qualifies in Illinois and a doctor’s prescription.
You must submit a signed Physician Certification with your MMP application – and that is where Leafy Doc can help. We can assist with booking your appointment and then provide the Physician Certification so that you can apply to get your medical card. Once you have the card, you may visit licensed medical marijuana dispensaries and even grow medical cannabis.
Any adults 21 and older are allowed to possess up to six ounces of cannabis.
Cannabis Policy Reform Timeline
2010: Governor Corzine signed the Medical Marijuana Act to legalize medical marijuana for a limited number of conditions and allow the opening of a medical marijuana dispensary
2013: Since cannabis prohibition, Criminalization was at an all-time high, nearly doubling since 1993
2018: The Medical Marijuana program and its’ qualifying conditions were expanded by the Senate Judiciary Committee to allow certain registered patients to buy cannabis from alternative treatment centers.
2020: NJ 1897 was signed into law to decriminalize minor cannabis possession
2021: NJ A21 was signed to legalize marijuana possession and adult-use cannabis, as well as authorize cannabis-related businesses to operate along with state-licensed dispensaries.
2022: Since New Jersey legalized marijuana, retail cannabis businesses are set to open in the spring under the supervision of the Cannabis regulatory commission.
Some of the Current Cannabis Bills in New Jersey
Learn more about Cannabis legalization in New Jersey: