Nevada State Information Page

  • Medical and recreational use is legalized.
  • Decriminalized statewide for personal use
  • Adult residents may legally possess 30 grams of cannabis flower, five grams of marijuana concentrate, and up to 500 milligrams of THC in a cannabis-infused product.
  • Cultivation of up to five plants per residence with a medical card is allowed for medical users with a qualifying medical condition.

Medical Cannabis Savings

Taxes explained and the benefits of getting your medical card in Nevada

Recreational Marijuana Taxes in Nevada

14.6% (10% excise + 4.6% sales tax)

Medical Marijuana Taxes in Nevada

4.6% sales tax

medical-card

Savings​

Estimated Savings Having a Medical Marijuana Card
10%

Marijuana has been legal for recreational use in Nevada since 2017 for adults, and medical marijuana has been legal since 1998 for medical cardholders and caregivers. 

State Laws and Offenses

Here’s a list of penalties for Nevada possession, sale, and distribution of marijuana, concentrate, or paraphernalia.

  • Marijuana is a Schedule I substance in the state of Nevada
  • Under federal law, cannabis is still considered a Schedule I Controlled Substance and illegal.
  • An adult resident may possess up to one ounce of cannabis for personal consumption
  • Possession or use of dry form or concentrated marijuana in public is a criminal misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum fine of 600 USD.
  • Sale or delivery of fewer than 100 pounds of marijuana is a Category E felony punishable by a minimum of one and a maximum of four years imprisonment and a fine up to 5,000 USD for the first offense.
  • Those who are a minimum age of 21 may legally grow no more than twelve plants per residence at one time.
  • Question 2 permits adults to manufacture, possess, use, transport, or purchase marijuana paraphernalia or distribute or sell marijuana paraphernalia to a person who is 21 years of age or older person.

Nevada medical marijuana laws allow patients with the following conditions to apply for a medical cannabis card:

  • Anorexia
  • Anxiety disorders
  • Autism spectrum disorders
  • Autoimmune disorders
  • AIDS / HIV
  • Cachexia
  • Cancer
  • Chronic pain
  • Glaucoma
  • Opioid dependency
  • Muscle spasms or seizures
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • Neuropathic conditions (whether or not the condition causes seizures)
  • Severe nausea or pain
  • Other conditions are subject to approval

1.

Book An Appointment

You will schedule an appointment to see a medical marijuana doctor in Nevada at a time that is most convenient for you. Provide basic medical history and book your appointment with a licensed medical marijuana doctor. You will need medical records and the doctor can approve any qualifying condition(s).

2.

Evaluation

Consult with a doctor for 15 minutes to evaluate your ailments, and ask any questions you may have about medical marijuana treatment.

3.

Approval

Within 24 hours after the evaluation, the doctor will send your certificate via email for your recommendation for medical marijuana. After receiving that recommendation, you can then apply with the state of Nevada to complete the registration process.

Does Nevada accept out-of-state medical cards?

Nevada does not accept out-of-state medical cards, but an adult medical patient can visit a legal dispensary to purchase with an ID. 

When does my Illinois medical card expire?

Medical cards expire one year from the date the patient completes the registration process with the state.

Nevada marijuana DUI laws

Here are the penalties in Nevada for driving under the influence: 

  • A first offense can result in between two days and up to six months in jail, up to 1,000 USD fine, up to 96 hours of community service; must pay for and participate in an education course on the abuse of alcohol and controlled substances within the time specified.
  • If convicted of a second offense, it can result in between ten days and up to six months in jail or between 10 days and up to six months on house arrest, up to a 1,000 USD fine, or the equivalent number of community service hours; the court may order participation in a program for the treatment of alcohol and drugs.
  • Third and subsequent offenses can result in a Category C felony, between one year and six years in prison. They shall be segregated from violent offenders in a minimum-security facility, up to a 5,000 USD fine.

Nevada marijuana growing laws

The only people who can grow weed are adult residents. They can legally grow cannabis plants on their private property. You must be 21 years or older and can grow up to twelve cannabis plants in your home, out of sight from the public, and in an enclosed area.

Nevada public consumption laws

Nevada state law prohibits the use of cannabis in a public place, including for medical patients. 

Residents may use no marijuana in the following locations:

  • Public transportation
  • Motor vehicles
  • Sidewalks
  • Public buildings and establishments
  • Anywhere smoking tobacco is prohibited

Nevada city specific laws

The laws listed here are for the state. Cities, counties, schools, universities, and employers may set their own rules and consequences. Be sure to check how marijuana laws differ in each county or town before you use.

Fifty-five percent of Nevada voters approved recreational legalization for recreational adult use. 

Yes, Marijuana inhalation devices are legal and sold in dispensaries in the state of Nevada; however, smoking is not allowed in public spaces.

Customers will be able to purchase a wide array of products, including marijuana flower, edibles, tinctures, vaporizer cartridges, concentrated cannabis, and topicals.

Yes. An adult is allowed to grow up to twelve mature plants in your own residence or with permission from the property owner.

For commercial use, growing marijuana in Nevada depends on a couple of factors: the cultivation must occur in a cultivation facility by a licensed and operating marijuana retailer or grower for quality control purposes.

Yes. Nevada law requires all qualified medical marijuana patients to be registered with the state and to obtain a medical card before using cannabis for medicinal purposes.

Requirements are as follows: 

  • A medical marijuana patient must first create a login for the Online Cardholder Registry and apply to the Nevada Medical Marijuana Cardholder Registry. 
  • Fill out and submit an Application Request Form and a Caregiver Application if you plan to have a caregiver to the Division of Public and Behavioral Health, a photo of your Nevada state ID, and a 25 USD application fee.
  • Once you receive your application, you will need to fill it out and send it back to the DPBH.

 

The application must include: 

  • Written documentation from the patient’s doctor which states the patient’s qualifying condition, that the use of medical marijuana will help them, that they have explained the risks to their patient, 
  • Contact information, the patient’s proof of residency in Nevada, and their name, address, telephone number, social security number, and date of birth.
  • The application will also include the caregiver application if the patient chooses to elect a caregiver.
  • There is a 75 USD application fee to purchase a medical marijuana card to buy marijuana-infused products.

As of 2022, there are approximately 65 dispensaries statewide.  Many of the places to buy cannabis are in Las Vegas and Clark County.

Cannabis Policy Reform Timeline

1932: Cannabis was prohibited in Nevada due to federal prohibition.

2000: Voters approved a ballot initiative legalizing medical marijuana for patients with qualifying medical conditions. 

2001: Assembly Bill 453 was passed to allow residents to legally possess up to one ounce a fine-only misdemeanor.

2006: Nevada voters failed to approve a recreational use ballot initiative that would allow cannabis use for adults.

2013: Nevada’s legislature enacted a law expanding the state’s existing medical marijuana program.

2016: Voters approved a ballot initiative legalizing marijuana for adult recreational use and establishing a regulated marijuana market as well as a system for cultivating weed.

2021: Assembly Bill 341 was passed to allow the operation of alcohol-free consumption lounges where adults can purchase and consume cannabis products, including smoking marijuana.

Updated 6.14.2022