Minnesota Marijuana Laws
Minnesota State Information Page
- Medical Program only
- Decriminalized statewide for minor possession
- Medical patients can possess a thirty-day supply; inhaled forms are not permitted; recreational possession is illegal.
- Cultivation is recreationally illegal, and medical patients are not allowed to grow at home.
Medical marijuana is legal in Minnesota and has been since 2015; however, recreational cannabis has not caught up. The state has made efforts to decriminalize the possession of small amounts of cannabis partially.
Legislatures in the House have voted to legalize recreational marijuana for adult use; but, the Senate has not agreed to acknowledge the bill yet.
State Laws and Offenses
Here’s a list of penalties for Minnesota’s possession, sale, and distribution of marijuana, concentrate, or paraphernalia.
- Marijuana is a Schedule I substance in the state of Minnesota
- Federally, cannabis is still considered a Schedule I Controlled Substance
- Marijuana possession of 42.5 grams or less is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum fine of 200 USD.
- The distribution of 42.5 grams or less without remuneration is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum fine of 200 USD.
- Cultivation in Minnesota will be punished based upon the aggregate weight of the plants found.
- Cannabis Possession of paraphernalia is a petty misdemeanor punishable by a maximum fine of 300 USD.
The following conditions are the most common qualifying medical conditions that qualify for medical marijuana in Minnesota:
- Age-related macular degeneration
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
- Chronic pain
- Chronic vocal or motor tic disorder
- Crohn’s disease
- Intractable pain
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms
- Sickle cell disease
- Sleep apnea
- Terminal illness
- Tourette’s Syndrome
Book An Appointment
You will schedule an appointment to see a medical marijuana doctor in Minnesota at a time that is most convenient for you. Provide basic medical history and book your appointment with a licensed medical marijuana doctor.
Consult with a doctor for a quick evaluation of your ailments, and ask any questions you may have about medical marijuana treatment.
Within 24 hours after the evaluation, the doctor will send your certificate via email for your recommendation for medical marijuana. After receiving that recommendation, you can then apply with the state of Minnesota to complete the registration process.
When does my Minnesota medical card expire?
Medical cards expire one year from the date the patient completes the registration process with the state.
Minnesota marijuana DUI laws
The penalties for driving after driving under the influence in Minnesota are as follows:
- The first offense results in up to ninety days in jail, a 1,000 USD fine, and up to 180 days of driver’s license suspension.
- The second offense results in a minimum of thirty days of incarceration or eight hours of community service for each day less than thirty and up to one year of driver’s license suspension.
- The third offense results in a mandatory minimum of ninety days incarceration, mandatory participation in an intensive supervision program, and up to three years’ driver’s license suspension.
Minnesota marijuana growing laws
Minnesota does not permit home cultivation for medical marijuana patients at this time.
Minnesota public consumption laws
The state of Minnesota bans the use of cannabis in public places including:
- On a school bus
- On the grounds of any preschool, primary, or secondary school
- In any correctional facility
- On the grounds of any child care facility or home daycare
- Vaping is prohibited on public transport, in a place of employment, in places a non-patient minor child might inhale the vapor, or in any public place, including any indoor or outdoor area used by or open to the general public.
Minnesota city specific laws
The laws listed here are for the state. Cities, counties, schools, universities, and employers may set their own rules and consequences. Be sure to check how marijuana laws differ in each county or town before you use.
In a recent poll, 52 percent of Minnesota voters supported the legalization of recreational marijuana use.
Marijuana is currently not legal for recreational use in the state of Minnesota. Due to the medical program that has been established, it will be permitted for medicinal purposes only. Those who have registered with the state’s Department of Health will be allowed possession.
Medical marijuana inhalation devices are illegal in the state of Minnesota. Only non-inhaled forms of cannabis are allowed.
No. Patients and caregivers are not authorized to cultivate marijuana at home per the Office of Medical Cannabis.
No, instead Minnesota law requires all qualified patients to be registered online with the Minnesota Department of Health and Human Services. Then, you’ll visit a Cannabis Patient Center once approved.
Cannabis Policy Reform Timeline
1976: Minor possession of cannabis was decriminalized
2014: Minnesota Senate Legislatures passed SF2470 authorizing the state’s Department of Health to oversee the medical cannabis program and medical cannabis manufacturers; patient registration began later this year
2015: Medical cannabis began being sold through state-run Cannabis Patient Centers; Medical cannabis therapeutic research and trials broadened after the medical legalization legislation passed.
2019: Alterations were made to the medical cannabis program; a bill was proposed to legalize cannabis recreationally but was quickly shut down by the Senate
2020: HB4632 was proposed to legalize marijuana for adult use but never made it to a hearing due to COVID
2021: The Minnesota House of Representatives voted in favor of legalized recreational marijuana; the Senate has yet to acknowledge the bill. Governor Tim Walz and many senate Republicans and Democrats are in support of legalizing cannabis use for adults.
Some of the Current Cannabis Bills in Minnesota
Learn more about Cannabis legalization in Minnesota: