Arkansas State Information Page
- Medical Program only
- Not decriminalized statewide; there is local decriminalization in some areas.
- Possession is not allowed recreationally; possession of 2.5 ounces every 14 days is legal for medical patients.
- Cultivation is illegal
Arkansas has legalized marijuana use for medical reasons, and there is a complete medical program established within the state. Recreational cannabis, however, is still illegal.
While marijuana has yet to be decriminalized statewide according to Arkansas state laws, the cities of Fayetteville and Eureka Springs have reduced cannabis-related law enforcement pursuits.
State Laws and Offenses
Here’s a list of penalties for possession, sale, and distribution of marijuana, concentrate, or paraphernalia in Arkansas.
- Marijuana is a Schedule IV drug in the state of Arkansas
- Federally, cannabis is still considered a Schedule I Controlled Substance and illegal.
- Personal use possession of up to four ounces is punishable by a maximum fine of 2,500 USD and one year or less of incarceration
- Intent to deliver above fourteen grams is a Felony punishable by range from 6 years to 30 years and 10,000 USD to 15,000 USD depending on the pounds
- Trafficking of 500 pounds or more is a felony with a minimum sentence of 10 years and a maximum of forty years with a 15,000 USD fine
- Possession of paraphernalia for personal use is a Misdemeanor with a maximum one year sentence and a 2,500 USD fine
- Possession of paraphernalia with intent to grow is a Felony with a maximum sentence of six years and a 10,000 USD fine
- Cultivation in Arkansas is punished as either simple possession or possession with intent to deliver, depending on the amount of marijuana being produced and other factors that may conclude that the marijuana was being grown for reasons other than strictly personal use.
The state of Arkansas approves the following medical conditions as qualifiers for a medical marijuana card:
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
- Cachexia Syndrome
- Positive-Status HIV/AIDS
- Crohn’s Disease
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Severe Arthritis
- Severe, Chronic, and Intractable Pain
- Severe Nausea
- Severe or persistent muscle spasms; Multiple sclerosis (MS)
- Tourette’s Syndrome
- Ulcerative Colitis
- Any other medical condition with treatment approved by Physicians
Book An Appointment
You will schedule an appointment to see a medical marijuana doctor in Arkansas at a time that is most convenient for you. Provide basic medical history and book your appointment with a licensed medical marijuana doctor.
Consult with a doctor for a quick evaluation of your ailments, and ask any questions you may have about medical marijuana treatment.
Within 24 hours after the evaluation, the doctor will send your certificate via email for your recommendation for medical marijuana. After receiving that recommendation, you can then apply with the state of Arkansas to complete the registration process.
Does Arkansas accept out-of-state medical cards?
Arkansas does accept out-of-state medical marijuana cards. Out-of-state visitors must complete the registration form and pay a patient application fee of 50 USD. Those approved may purchase medical marijuana for up to 30 days.
When does my Arkansas medical card expire?
Medical cards expire one year from the date the patient completes the registration process with the state.
Arkansas marijuana DUI laws
Driving under the influence of cannabis is illegal, even in medical marijuana states.
Arkansas marijuana growing laws
Personal cannabis cultivation is illegal in Arkansas. Registered patients must source medical marijuana from state-approved dispensaries by the Department of Health.
Arkansas public consumption laws
As outlined in Act 740, qualifying patients are not permitted to possess, smoke, or engage in the use of cannabis in the following places:
- Any form of public transport
- College or university
- Daycare center, preschool, primary or secondary school
- Drug or alcohol treatment facility
- Community or recreation center
- Correctional facility
- In any public place
- In any place where smoking is prohibited
- In close physical proximity to anyone under the age of 14.
Arkansas city specific laws
The laws listed here are for the state. Cities, counties, schools, universities, and employers may set their own rules and consequences. Be sure to check how marijuana laws differ in each county or town before you use.
Fifty-three percent of Arkansas voters supported the legalization of marijuana for medical use in their state.
Marijuana is currently legal for medical use only in Arkansas.
To qualify for a registry card to the medical marijuana program, you must meet the following qualifications:
- Be 18 years of age or older or be a minor patient with parental consent.
- Be diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition – click here to see a list of qualifying medical conditions.
- Have the official written certification from a physician.
- Be an Arkansas resident with proof of residency.
- State law prohibits the Arkansas National Guard and the United States Military from obtaining a medical marijuana ID card.
Cannabis Policy Reform Timeline
1923: Cannabis was criminalized in Arkansas, New Mexico, Nevada, Washington, and Oregon.
2006: Eureka Springs residents voted to make enforcement of cannabis laws the lowest priority.
2008: Fayetteville residents voted to make enforcement of cannabis laws the lowest priority
2012: The Arkansas Medical Marijuana Act failed, it gained enough signatures and went to the ballot, and was defeated 48.6 to 51.4 percent.
2016: The Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment was passed, and medical cannabis was technically legalized.
2019: The first medical marijuana dispensary was opened in Hot Springs and overseen by the Arkansas Department of Health. There are several dispensaries in the state now.
2021: Little Rock voters approved making enforcement of cannabis laws the lowest priority.
2022: The Arkansas Recreational Marijuana Initiative may appear on the ballot in Arkansas as an initiated constitutional amendment in November for recreational use.
Some of the Current Cannabis Bills in Arkansas
Learn more about Cannabis legalization in Arkansas: